Skip To Content

Athabasca University

Lab Committee

Athabasca University Science Lab Committee (AUSLC)

The AUSLC is an ad-hoc advisory committee that reports routinely to the Chair for the Centre for Science.

The AUSLC also makes recommendations as necessary to the Dean - Faculty of Science & Technology, the VP and Associate VP - Academic, and the VP - Finance regarding policy matters related to science lab activities and lab safety and security.

Membership

  1. Science Professors with Science Lab components (one who will be Chair)
  2. Science Lab Coordinator
  3. Science Lab Technician
  4. Science Lab Kit Manager
  5. Director of Facilities (as required)
  6. Additional members as approved by the committee
Committee Members
Name Centre/Faculty E-mail
Roland Treu, Chair (July 01, 2010 - ) Biology Professor, Centre for Science rolandt@athabascau.ca
Shauna Zenteno, Outgoing Chair * Microbiology Professor, Centre for Science shaunaz@athabascau.ca
Lisa Carter Dean, Faculty of Science and Technology lisac@athabascau.ca
Scott McGavin Acting Academic Coordinator, Chemistry rmcgavin@athabascau.ca
Lawton Shaw Chemistry Professor, Centre for Science lawtons@athabascau.ca
John Ulici-Petrut Biology Coordinator johnup@athabascau.ca
Ken Munyikwa Geology Professor, Centre for Science kenm@athabascau.ca
Frederique Pivot Assistant Professor, Physical Geography fpivot@athabascau.ca
Martin Connors Physics Professor, Centre for Science martinc@athabascau.ca
Farook Al-Shamali Physics Course Coordinator, Centre for Science farooka@athabascau.ca
Robert Carmichael Lab Coordinator, Centre for Science robertc@athabascau.ca
Elaine Goth-Birkigt Science Laboratory Manager, Centre for Science elaineb@athabascau.ca
Rafael Hakobyan Lab Kit Manager, Centre for Science rhakobyan@athabascau.ca
Ian Schofield Observatory Researcher schofiel@athabascau.ca
Nichole Collins Occupational Health and Safety Advisor ncollins@athabascau.ca

* Dr. Shauna Zenteno served as Chair from 2005-2010.

Updated December 11 2014 by Student & Academic Services

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.